SalvE!  Welcome to Lone Pine Classical School.

We have been growing since 2003, now offering ONLINE and LOCAL classes.

ONLINE:  Latin and Greek classes for students working at the 9-12 grade level (age 12+ for Latin, age 14+ for Greek); Geometry course in 2016-2017 only.

LOCAL (Fort Collins, CO):   "Full STEAM Ahead" GT enrichment program (for homeschoolers or students who attend another school), a homeschool association, and a small PG full time day program.

Online Course Schedule:  Registration is NOW OPEN for 2016-2017!

Latin 100 (Students doing at least 9th grade work; age 12 by August 1, with age 13 strongly preferred):  Monday and Wednesday, 7:10 - 8:25 a.m. Mountain Time (6:10 Pacific, 8:10 Central, 9:10 a.m. Eastern). 

2016-2017 ONLYLatin 100, Special Section (EG/PG students age 11+):  Monday and Wednesday, 10:00 - 11:00 a.m. Mountain Time (9:00 Pacific, 12:00pm Central, 1:00pm Eastern).   All students age 11 registering for Latin 100 will be placed in this section.  This is a rare chance to take Latin 100 before age 12!   This will be a small section of students planning to excel in all of our contests during their middle and high school years.   We will spend two years covering the Latin 100 material (and more) and preparing for Certamen (quiz bowl) and other contests (National Myth Exam / Medusa Exam, National Latin Exam, Nat'l Classical Etymology Exam, Nat'l Roman Civilization Exam, Classical Literacy and Classical Scholar Exams, Junior Classical League convention events, possibly NACLO, if time permits).  Students will then enter our regular Latin 200 course in 2018-2019 and continue with the sequence through the AP Exam in May 2022.  Students should plan to attend the annual Colorado and/or National JCL Conventions during most of their Latin 200-AP career.

Latin 200 (prereq. Latin 100 or instructor permission):  Monday and Wednesday, 8:30 - 9:45 a.m. Mountain Time (7:30 Pacific, 9:30 Central, 10:30 a.m. Eastern).  

Latin 300/400 Poetry (prereq. Latin 200 or instructor permission):  Tuesday and Thursday, 8:30 - 9:45 a.m. Mountain Time (7:30 Pacific, 9:30 Central, 10:30 a.m. Eastern)  (Latin 300/400 Prose will be offered in 2017/2018).

AP Latin (prereq. Latin 400 or instructor permission):  Tuesday and Thursday, 7:00 - 8:25 a.m. Mountain Time (6:00 Pacific, 8:00 Central, 9:00 Eastern).  

2016-2017 ONLY:  Jacobs' Geometry and Critical Thinking (rigorous proof-based geometry course combined with a logic/reasoning elective, 1 high school math credit; PG students age 10+):  Tuesday and Thursday, 10:00 - 11:00 a.m. Mountain Time (8:00 Pacific, 11:00 Central, 12:00pm Eastern).   Prerequisite:  Pre-Algebra (any text, though AOPS is preferred; most students have taken Algebra I already).  Books:  A Workbook for Arguments:  A Complete Course in Critical Thinking, ISBN-13: 978-1-60384-549-6 (available on amazon), and Jacobs' Geometry copyright 1987 (NOT 1974), ISBN 0-7167-1745-X.  (Try alibris.com or abebooks.com if amazon.com is sold out.)  Please email the director to register for Geometry 2016-2017.


2015-2016 Local (Fort Collins, CO) Course Schedule:

PG Day Program:  Monday through Thursday, 8:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.; Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 4 p.m.  Currently full, with no openings predicted for next year; we are not accepting names for a waitlist at this point.

Full STEAM Ahead Enrichment Program:  Students select individual courses which meet either on Wednesdays or Fridays, in the 10:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. window.  Students select specific courses; students do not need to sign up for the entire program.  Specific Courses: 

  • Chess with Chessmates (Advanced and Beginner sections)
  • Circuitry and Soldering:  We will use Sparkfun Inventor Kits and E-textiles (make a light-up bookmark!) to explore the workings of circuits, and learn to solder.  Ages 10 and up.
  • Computer Science (Python and the ACSL competition; theory-based, not games-based) and NACLO/Logic Problems
  • Conversational French
  • Conversational Spanish
  • Intro to Latin and Greco-Roman Mythology
  • Lego Robotics (First Lego League Junior)
  • Lit Club 5 - Writing and Literature for grades 5-6 (advanced 4th graders OK)
  • Lit Club 2 - Introduction to writing and literature for grades 2-3
  • Math Contest Class (Grades 5-8 and Grades 2-4 sections) - prepare for and participate in the AMC-8, MathCounts, MOEMS, NOETIC, and the Math League contests
  • Painting and Art History
  • Pottery - hand-building
  • Science for Grade 2 (using Bernard Nebel's BFSU curriculum)
  • Science for Grade 5 (using Bernard Nebel's BFSU curriculum)
  • Science Olympiad:  Grades 2-4 and 5-8 (Division A and Division B)
  • SeaPerch (Underwater Robotics; spring only)

REGISTRATION IS CLOSED for 2015-2016; please email the director to register for 2016-2017.

Skip available courses